The Wife - Alafair Burke

The Wife

By Alafair Burke

  • Release Date: 2018-01-23
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 149 Ratings

Description

"This year's Gone Girl."—Harlan Coben

His Scandal
Her Secret

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look—at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke’s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

Reviews

  • The Wife

    4
    By Perky too
    An interesting author. This is the first book I have read of hers. I like the story told from different characters. I always find that interesting. I’m not so sure I agree that it had a “jaw dropping” ending. I suspected some of what was going to happen, but not all and was actually a little surprised when I turned the page and found Acknowledgments. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the book and stayed up too late reading a few nights.
  • Excellent book!

    5
    By KSjo2001
    I could not put this book down. Excellent book, keeps your interest all the way through with a twist you won't see coming. Highly recommend.
  • Awful

    1
    By A is epic
    Wow.....I really liked most of her prior work and loved her father’s work, but I can’t remember a more poorly conceived novel with a complete absence of sympathetic characters....she needs to go back to the drawing board.
  • Could not put it down....EXCELLENT MUST READ!!!!

    5
    By jodi9676
    Loved this book and it kept me guessing till the last page
  • The Wife

    4
    By Readingbythesea
    Interesting ending!
  • Really,really liked it

    5
    By Sassiemomma
    Very good book, can’t wait for the next one!
  • The Wife

    5
    By Frenchy Girl 2016
    Great read! Twists at the end made my jaw drop open... Literally!!
  • The Wife

    5
    By devbie doll
    Excellent, would recommend to any mystery lover!

Comments